My Latest Digital Painting: Expendables 3

exp4

After months of drawing, my reproduction is finally done. Read on to find out how I drew it.

I decided it was time to create a hyper-realistic drawing. What better pic than one showing the people that I looked up to growing up? Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Dolph Lundgren, etc. They were my childhood heroes, and continue to inspire me to this day. I selected this photo by photographer Phil Bray to copy.  I knew this was going to be a long project, so I had to take a shortcut. I traced out the initial outline. I haven’t had to trace before (and will probably never trace again), but I knew right away this would take months to draw, so I had to put everything where it was supposed to be. This outline was the only part I cheated on, and even then, I did not stay true to the tracing and the final result turned out differently. The rest was drawn using a size 2 brush, except for the background, where I used the blur tool and a blending brush. This stage took less than an hour.

exp1

 

For the second draft, I sampled the major colors and began adding some detail. This stage took a few hours. I chose a large resolution, 3024 x 1872 pixels (or 42 x 26 inches). This should make a good poster.

exp2

 

The third draft of my art piece took much longer. I drew with a size 2 brush for two days, adding more color and adding more detail. At this point, I was convinced it would take a long time. I was not going to give up.

 

exp3

Boy did it take a long time. 3 months of drawing with a size 2 brush, and I was finally done. I also used the blur tool and a blending brush on the background. Nothing else. No color adjustments, no textures/photo elements, no filters, nothing.

 

exp4

From far away, the picture looks almost like a photo. Close up, you can see all the brush lines.

Zoomed

Now that the picture is done, what’s next? More drawing. Hopefully next year, I can draw a picture 10x better. Without tracing or sampling ANY colors. I need to improve with other mediums, as well. Paints, pen, pencil, colored pencil, charcoal. I want to be versatile and skilled with all mediums. I’ll take a break, then it’s time to get back to work…

 

 

Leave a Reply

